AKC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award

The American Kennel Club’s Outstanding Sportsmanship Award was established in 2006 to provide each member parent club with an AKC Medallion to award to one of its own on a yearly basis.

This award honors those individuals who deserve special recognition, who have made a difference in the sport of purebred dogs, who embody the AKC Code of Sportsmanship and who is an active and valued member of the PWDCA. Medallions are awarded solely at the club's discretion.

The PWDCA offers this prestigious award each year to a club member who best meets the award selection criteria.


The PWDCA is honored to provide this distinguished award to the following member recipients:

2021: Jane McEwen

2020: Susan Myrick

2019: Amanda Ford

2018: Fred Forman

2017: Janis Watts 

2016: Susan Cucura

2015: Chuck Teasley

2014: Jane Freeman

2010: Cheryl Smith

2008: Deb Zorn

2007: Verne Foster

The AKC Sportsmanship Award Committee receives nominations from the membership during the course of the year and makes a recommendation to the Board, who then selects the finalist. Awards are based on the previous calendar year, with the nomination submission deadline of April 15th.
  • Must be a PWDCA member in good standing for the recognition year, as well as the year in which the individual is being nominated
  • Exemplifies the virtues of the AKC Code of Sportsmanship
  • Is an active and valued member of the PWDCA who has made an outstanding contribution to the club 
  • Must be involved in, and have made a difference in, the sport of purebred dogs in the areas such as Conformation, Obedience, Agility, Water or other working dog sports/events

The Award Medallion will be presented at the Awards Banquet at the PWDCA National Specialty and an announcement is published in The Courier.

In 2016 Bev Rafferty donated to the PWDCA the trophy that she won for Best of Breed at the first PWDCA National Specialty in 1992 with "Dillon" (MBISS CH Pinehaven On The Town). The “Dillon Bowl” has been mounted and includes plaques with the names of all PWDCA AKC Outstanding Sportsmanship winners.

Complete the AKC Sportsmanship Award Nomination Form and submit no later than April 15th for the preceding year.

Please contact the AKC Sportsmanship Committee at AKCSportsmanship@pwdca.org