The AKC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award

AKC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award

The American Kennel Club’s Outstanding Sportsmanship Award is described as follows:

"In the American Kennel Club's ongoing efforts to recognize and celebrate its volunteer club members, The AKC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award program was established in 2006 to provide each member club with an AKC Medallion to award to one of its own on a yearly basis."

This award honors those individuals who deserve special recognition who have made a difference in the sport of purebred dogs, embodied the AKC Code of Sportsmanship , and is an active and valued member of the PWDCA.

Medallions are awarded solely at the club's discretion.

The PWDCA will offer this prestigious award each year to a Club member who best meets the award selection criteria:

Program Details

Nominations are accepted throughout the year. Awards are based on a calendar year with the deadline for the preceding year on April 15th.

Nomination Form

Past PWDCA Honorees

  • 2007: Verne Foster
  • 2008: Deb Zorn
  • 2010: Cheryl Smith
  • 2014: Jane Freeman
  • 2015: Chuck Teasley
  • 2016: Susan Cucura
  • 2017: Janis Watts
  • 2018: Fred Forman
  • PWDCA member in good standing for the recognition year, as well as the year in which the individual is being nominated.
  • Exemplifies the virtues of the AKC Code of Sportsmanship.
  • Active and valued member of the PWDCA who has made an outstanding contribution.  
  • Must be involved in and a made a difference in the sport of purebred dogs in the areas such as Conformation, Obedience, Agility, Water or other working dog sports.

The Award Medallion will be presented at the Awards Banquet at the PWDCA National Specialty and an announcement published in The Courier.

In 2016 Bev Rafferty donated to the PWDCA the trophy that she won for Best of Breed at the first PWDCA National Specialty in 1992 with "Dillon" (MBISS CH Pinehaven On The Town). The “Dillon Bowl” will be mounted on a stand and the names of all AKC Outstanding Sportsmanship winners will be engraved on the stand.

For any questions about this program, contact Susan Myrick ([email protected]).

powered by MemberClicks